Linden Trees Are Outdated!?

If you could clone one element from another city you’ve visited — a building, a cultural institution, a common street food, etc. — and bring it back to your own hometown, what would it be?

1

No place is perfect, the same way no person is without flaw. And I might as well admit it, I count myself amongst those people lucky enough to live in a town they like, which suits them from many points of view. But… (Isn’t there always a “but” for most of us, under almost any circumstance?) But we certainly need more parks, that’s the thought that often crosses my mind, especially in those cold winter months, when a nice walk by the sea is simply out of the question because of the wind. Those – together with the warm, lazy early June days – are the times when I think of the town where I grew up. It’s not nostalgia, I don’t miss either the town or the people left behind. What I do miss is the beautiful, old park I could see from my window every day (the one in the picture is a different one, but from the same town), that park I knew by heart, an escape for me and my friends during those overly dramatic afternoons of our teenage years. The unbelievable, almost surreal aroma of the linden trees blooming at the beginning of June was a sure sign that the summer holiday was only days away. That divine smell permeating all the way to my room was one of those life’s little pleasures which often go unnoticed. As it turns out – is there ever anything pleasant you get to hear about on the news? – the same beautiful linden trees prevalent in that park have become obsolete, as some of the town officials have decided. They are simply outdated, they seem to think, and although the park is a cultural and historical landmark, they should certainly be replaced with some new, trendier trees. Will they go through with this insanity, in spite of people’s outrage? I couldn’t tell and part of me doesn’t even want to hear about it if it does happen (although I’m sure the news will inform us about it, once it’s a fait accompli). Perhaps it’s not a relevant matter in the grand scheme of things, but I see it as a way of metaphorically murdering people’s past and part of a town’s history. Thus, in a time where history is not deemed fashionable and people are often denied their past and memories, we definitely need more parks… or perhaps it’s just me, perhaps it’s the intoxicated smell of the blooming linden trees mixed with the salty air of the seaside making me believe memories should be cherished and beauty should not be destroyed that easily.

8 thoughts on “Linden Trees Are Outdated!?

  1. Great post. Here in Germany, many of the “old-fashioned” and unpopular trees and flowers still grace the stunning personal gardens. Linden trees and Lilac trees mark the change of seasons with such a heavenly scent, and the Forsythia bushes that are so prevalent here make it seem as if the sun is bursting from the ground. It’s a shame that old and new can’t be treasured side by side there as they are here!

    Like

    • I agree, there’s plenty of room for old and new trends to coexist. In fact, until recently I wasn’t even aware that there is such a thing as ‘old-fashioned’ trees… What can I say – at least not everybody has the same ‘fashion’ sense when it comes to parks and nature, so I can still enjoy the pleasant scent of linden trees blooming in June 🙂 And I did notice that nobody seems to mind the ‘retro’ look of lindens in Germany, Austria and many other places.

      Like

  2. Parks are never enough :). I would also love a birch rod forest. I’m in love with birch rods since I was a kid and I’d spend my long summer holidays in the countryside, in a little village whose hills were dotted with birch rods. So beautiful!

    Like

Comments are closed.