Ghosts of Valentine’s Dates Past

Ana Linden

1

It’s not every day that a flower delivery guy almost throws a bouquet of roses at you, I thought to myself the day before yesterday. He had harassed me all day, calling like a maniac in order to find out when exactly I’d be home, so he could bring me the flowers – a Valentine’s Day bouquet which for some inexplicable reason they had decided to deliver a couple of days early. As soon as I closed the door in the face of the man who was still expecting a tip in spite of his rudeness and almost offensive words, I got to enjoy the beautiful roses – in spite of the commercial fuck up, they were still the symbol of a loving gesture, from a person so dear to me. I have long ago made my peace with the holiday dreaded by many, but I can’t deny that the…

View original post 1,268 more words

2 thoughts on “Ghosts of Valentine’s Dates Past

  1. ….I’ve always thought Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day and Father’s Day were “commercial” holidays — IE set up for folks to buy, buy, buy. Perhaps we should think every day is Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day and Father’s Day — days to celebrate those we love including friends, parents, siblings, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also have a big problem with all the unnecessary drama and excessive consumerism attached to various holidays. But I do like little occasional reminders to be nice and do something special for those dear to me – unfortunately, I tend to postpone spontaneous tokens of appreciation and get caught up in the daily routine, so I sometimes need reminders such as holidays. As long as one remembers it’s not the amount of money spent that denotes the depth of feeling, I’m ok with a little bit of scheduled celebration… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

