Beginnings, Beginnings…

4

Adults were the enemy, no doubt about it… Yet they had all been young once, children, teenagers… So at what point did they start to mutate, when was it that they stopped understanding and started forgetting?

The 12 year old me had no answer to those daunting questions, and neither did any of my friends. But I was afraid it might happen to me eventually. No, no, never, that would never be me. Yet… what if forgetting is stronger than the human being? Not forgetting actual situations – adults seemed to remember many things, they all had childhood stories – but the feelings behind them, the implications, the reasons and the results. It wasn’t about remembering, it was about remembering it right.

There was only one thing to be done about it. I picked a nice mote book that I was saving for just such an extreme occasion and decided it would be the first of many. Everything had to be documented. There was no other way I would grow into one of those narrow minded, uncaring, depressing, oppressive people who accepted nothing but their own biased judgement and could not understand us… because they could not remember correctly how it was like to be us.

I was no exception, I soon discovered that most of the girls kept diaries… and even a few of the boys were bold enough to admit they kept “journals”. In fact, there was an absolutely hilarious afternoon when we were about 14 and we found one of these journals. One of the boys had been careless enough to bring it to school and leave it on my desk… My friends and I got our grubby little hands on it and the public reading that followed in a nearby park after classes turned out to be embarrassing to say the least. here were certain very private physical matters in there that no adolescent boy would like to have read by the girl he used to like in front of the girl he kindda likes… and all of her friends and his friends. Oh yes, we were merciless… But if you don’t want your classmates to read your diary, you don’t bring it to school, it was a known fact.

Whatever the reasons each and every one of us had, journaling was a widely spread activity. But that wasn’t writing, none of us perceived it as such… writing sounded too much like homework, that was just too tedious. Yet I was right about one thing – that first note book was followed by several others over the years. I may have denied their existence in front of my friends (that was just too girly a thing for me admit to), but the truth was that writing cleared my mind. It may have been meant for my eyes alone, but it was cathartic. It was calming whenever I could no longer control my anger; it was soothing when I felt I couldn’t control my tears; and it was comforting and motivating whenever I felt there was no hope.

I eventually came to understand my personal writing as the best way to gain some perspective. Writing then became dialogue. I would write letters to a good friend of mine who was older and had moved away. My closest friends and I had this notebook where we kept writing whatever went through our minds, everything that troubled us or that made us happy. We did start letting others in, but one thing remained the same – none of us could relate to, confide in or trust the adults in our lives, we had to rely on each other. That we did have in common, it was a fact, not mere adolescent rebellion.

Yet some adults were different. I couldn’t deny that when my middle school literature teacher came to me one day and told me I had won some prize in a writing competition. I vaguely remembered being told about that competition and I had dismissed it immediately; what did she want from me, I couldn’t be bothered with that, I didn’t write like that… She said nothing else, she just asked me to hand in another copy of a composition I had written as a school assignment. She send it in for me and apparently some people liked it… Hmm… who would have thought? She repeated the stunt whenever she got her hands on something I wrote and she liked; that’s how I won a couple more prizes in various writing contests for kids my age and that’s how I ended up accidentally writing occasional pieces for the school paper. Writing could help me if I let it, she made me understand. I didn’t have to take it too seriously, I didn’t have to make it into a career, I just had to allow it to be an outlet. That was my decision… unlike the various competitions she chose for me to enter unwillingly.

She was right, I later had to admit… everybody should have a hobby to sink into whenever they need to let go of everything. As for the life of the misunderstood teenager… well, there was more to it than I had initially imagined. Some of that lack of understanding and tolerance was not about forgetting or about not remembering it right. Some of it was nobody’s fault, neither the adults, nor the kids could be blamed for the incredibly fast paced life and for the way everything evolved beyond everybody’s perception.

I got my first taste of that bitter reality very early in my twenties, when a friend asked me to talk to his younger sister about sex… So many things had changed from social and technological points of view in less than 10 years, that nothing I had written down could have helped me with some of the scary question that perfectly average 13 year old had. I remembered it right and I remembered it all, yet the context was no longer the same. It wasn’t only about remembering, it was also about adapting what I knew to her context, if I wanted to convince the girl that she could and should be her own hero, first and foremost…

In response to WordPress Weekly Discover Challenge – Origin Story.

9 thoughts on “Beginnings, Beginnings…

  1. “It wasn’t about remembering, it was about remembering it right.” I’m not on twitter but this is a great tweet!
    As I was reading your post the idea that this could be part of a something larger occurred to me – There’s depth in what you write as well as universal truths so I think many would be interested in reading a memoir (of a writer, perhaps?). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not on twitter either 🙂 .
      What you’re suggested did cross my mind, but I’m still not very comfortable sharing too many private details with the world. I’m working on it, but whenever I write a really personal post, I still have to fight that urge of hitting “delete”.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the line about sinking into a hobby – and funny how guys keep a journal and gals a diary!
    And the talk with the teen really highlighted the different roles we move into as young adults and then adults and then parents!
    But I have to say that I do remember oh so well what it was like to be under adults and it has helped me respect children – and this respect has given me a lot more success as s teacher.
    But whew – never easy because humans can be so complex -hmmm

    Liked by 1 person

    • Being able to respect them and appreciate what they’re going through is a real asset if you’re going to have any success teaching them… otherwise they might just eat you alive 😉 . Joking aside, yes, the talk with the teenage girl put lots of things into perspective. I’m very open minded and I don’t shy away from discussing and explaining private matters, but wow… the questions I had to answer… I don’t even want to imagine how a mother feels if her innocent 13 year old verbalizes such queries. I might just continue the story in a post for the “Pure” challenge, if I get around to it 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice post, thanks for sharing. I agree…Writing can give you calming, soothing, comforting and being in control feeling. Journals are also helpful to look back at different times in your life and read your feelings and opinions on various events in your life. It can also be a great outlet of sounding off.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

