Parallel Lives – Sample Fragment 42

“I know of it, my mother used to come here with an old boyfriend of hers. I hear the place is pretty great.”

“I’m sorry. I’m such a dick… I had no idea, believe me.”

“How could you have known? I didn’t even know this place still existed.”

“We can go somewhere else, if you want. Anyway, I assume it used to be different back then, they have refurbished, almost rebuilt the entire place a couple of years ago.”

“It’s fine, don’t worry. I’m sure it’ll be nice.”

The platitude didn’t convince him, but it did restore some of her initial calm. Nothing is the same. I’m different. And this is my life. She doesn’t matter, she’s irrelevant, and so is her past. She’s not worth my happiness. Anger overcame any other emotion: a mother’s past would not destroy a daughter’s happiness again. Anger only makes one’s resolution even stronger.

For more sample fragments from Parallel Lives, see: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/396169

Leave a Reply

